I feel like time is flying! Less than 100 days until the Boston Marathon! Week 4 of training went well. I recovered from the flu and was still on vacation from work, as Odin was on school holiday still and we don’t have daycare for him because I work from home (I drop him off and pick him up from school everyday). I ran my long run on Friday that week and my parents came up to visit. They took Odin public skating at our local arena part way through my long run – which was great for everyone!

Week 4 training went as follows:

  • Monday: 9mi
  • Tuesday: 14mi
  • Wednesday: 11mi
  • Thursday: 5mi
  • Friday: 18mi
  • Saturday: 5mi
  • Total = 62 mi

Week 5 was a bit more difficult, with my first 20mi long run of this training cycle and some negative thoughts in my head. I struggled this week with not feeling like I am a good enough runner. I’m not one who usually compares myself to others, especially because I feel that running is very individual. Everyone’s speed, goals and training are so very different, and it’s one of the things I love most about this sport.

I wasn’t always a runner. I didn’t get into the sport until I was almost 20. Since then, I ended up having 2 kids, and it’s only been the past year that running has been something I’ve taken very seriously and truly dedicated myself to. 2016 was a really awesome year for me, and I want to prove that I’m still improving and getting faster. I’m building on what I accomplished last year in the hopes that I continue to set new PRs for myself and enjoy every minute. However, the flip side of this is the added pressure I feel or expectations about my running. I’m probably being harder on myself than I should be, but it’s how I have always been.

Week 5 training:

  • Monday: 9mi
  • Tuesday: 14mi
  • Wednesday: 12mi
  • Thursday: 5mi
  • Friday: 20mi
  • Saturday: 5mi
  • Total = 65 mi

This coming week (week 6) will be my highest mileage week of training so far. To be honest, I might even cut out a couple of miles just to ensure that my body can handle the load at this point in training (I’ll see how I feel) and that I make it to Boston without injury. I’ve been diligent about rolling, stretching and doing my PT exercises that I was given last year. I’ve become paranoid about getting injured, but I also think it has to do with the fact that I’m almost at the same point in this training cycle as I was last year when I was training for the Ottawa Marathon, my first one ever, and I suffered an SI Joint sprain.

The marathon distance is still very new to me and I have a lot to learn and figure out. I don’t know what works best for me yet when it comes to this distance, so I’m listening very carefully to my body in the hopes that I will make it through this training cycle and be properly prepared for Boston. Bring on week 6!

