Welcome to my second attempt at a blog, which, this time, I am committed to. 2016 marked my return to racing after giving birth to my second child. I set two goals at the start of the year:

  • Qualify for the Boston Marathon, even though I’d never run a marathon before
  • Qualify for the NYC Marathon, which would require a ~7 minute reduction in my 1/2 marathon PR.

I was up for the challenge. There were a few stumbles along the way – a sprained SI Joint, excessive heat on race days, life in general – but I managed to make both of my dreams a reality. I qualified for (and have been accepted!) the 2017 Boston Marathon with a time of 3:17:45, which I ran at the Ottawa Marathon in May, 10 months after having Lennon. It took me two tries to run the qualifying standard for NYC, which I ran in early October in a time of 1:27:08.

I run as part of the Oiselle Volee and Team Nuun. I plan on sharing stories of my training, along with gear I love, lessons I’ve learned and life as a mother runner. I hope you’ll run along with me!

 

